My trip to Liberia Jan 2010(Medical Mission) And how my time in the military helped me

 

For someone to be able to teach they should be willing to learn. One cannot force knowledge upon a student. When I came to Liberia I had no idea what I would be running into. My whole concept was I would be teaching well versed medical professionals. On my first day teaching I was anxious, nervous and wondering if I have prepared myself enough. Then I was presented with 5 students that ranged from paramedicals and nursing students. I had one student who had been doing x-rays for the past year, who had no prior experience or knowledge of radiology .Throughout the following days I would teach them and broaden their idea and capabilities in the field. For me it was back to the bare minimum basics. During the day we would go over anatomy, positioning and the importance of radiation protection at night we would do our practical training. On a regular night we would do about 5-10 x-rays . Majority of the x-rays were chest and abdominal films. Quality control is an issue that needs to be taught next time, but with the limited resources at hand I feel confident to say
Pheebe hospital will have an exceptional radiology dept.

By Eduardo Ebalobo

Leave a Reply

